“Pee Wee Squawks” – Muggsy Spanier And His Orchestra (1946)

Disc NY; New York, September 9, 1946: Muggsy Spanier-c/Vernon Brown-tb/Pee Wee Russell-cl-v/Nick Ciazza-ts/Gene Schroeder-p/Bob Haggart-b/George Wettling-d.  *Speech by Muggsy Spanier (background)/vocals by Pee Wee Russell (foreground).

This could have been a disastrous, alcohol-fueled flop, but somehow Muggsy and Pee Wee keep it together, and even manage to add an endearing tone that follows through to a pretty solid and bluesy ending.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s